Pueblo de San Ildefonso Law Library
Pueblo de San Ildefonso Code. Findings

(a) On November 2, 2001, the Secretary of the Interior issued a federal charter of incorporation to the All Indian Pueblo Council for the Pueblo Insurance Agency, Inc. ("Federal Charter") under Section 17 of the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934, 25 U.S.C. § 477, for the benefit of the Pueblo of Acoma, Pueblo of Cochiti, Pueblo of Isleta, Pueblo of Jemez, Pueblo of Laguna, Pueblo of Santa Ana, Pueblo of Sandia, Pueblo of San Felipe, Pueblo of Santo Domingo, Pueblo of Zia, Pueblo of Zuni, Pueblo of Nambe, Pueblo of Picuris, Pueblo of Pojoaque, Pueblo of Santa Clara, Pueblo de San Ildefonso, Ohkay Owingeh, Pueblo of Tesuque, and Pueblo of Taos (the "19 Pueblos");

(b) The Pueblo, by Tribal Council Resolution No. SI-R15-006 (March 13, 2015) ("Tribal Council Resolution"), petitioned the Secretary to approve certain amendments to PIA's federal charter (the "Amended Federal Charter") to, among other things, remove all references to the All Indian Pueblo Council, which the 19 Pueblos dissolved in 2013;

(c) On May 15, 2015, the Secretary approved the Amended Federal Charter, which is attached as Exhibit A, subject to ratification by the governing body of each of the 19 Pueblos;

(d) The Amended Federal Charter is in the form requested by the Pueblo in the Tribal Council Resolution, and is acceptable to the Tribal Council;

(e) There is no requirement under the laws of the Pueblo that would require a referendum by the members of the Pueblo or any other procedure beyond this resolution in order to ratify the Amended Federal Charter.