Pueblo de San Ildefonso Law Library
Pueblo de San Ildefonso Code. Board of Commissioners

(a) Membership. The Board shall be composed of five (5) commissioners.

(b) Member Selection.

(1) Appointments. The Governor shall nominate commissioners to serve on the Board subject to confirmation by the Council. Commissioners shall serve three-year staggered terms of office.

(c) Qualifications of Commissioners.

(1) Board members may be tribal members or non-tribal members; provided, that tribal members shall always constitute a majority of members of the Board.

(2) No person may be prohibited from serving as a member of the Board because that person is also a tenant or Homebuyer of Housing; provided, that anyone who is delinquent on housing payments due to the Authority shall be ineligible to serve on the Board.

A Board member may participate in all meetings concerning matters that affect all of the tenants or Homebuyers even though those matters may indirectly affect the Board member as well; however, no Board member, in their capacity as a member of the Board, may participate in or be present at any Board meeting concerning any matter involving the Board member's individual rights, obligations, or status as a tenant or Homebuyer, except that the Board member may participate in or be present at such meeting only in their capacity as a tenant or Homebuyer.

(3) "Board members shall not be convicted felons. Candidates for Board Member positions shall be subject to a background check."

(d) Term of office. Except as otherwise provided, the term of office of the members of the Board shall be three (3) years staggered. A vacancy on the Board shall be filled by a qualified person upon nomination of the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Council. A person selected to fill a vacancy shall serve for the length of the unexpired term. Unless a member of the Board has been removed as provided in section 1.6 (f), the Board member may continue to serve after the expiration of the term of office until his successor has been appointed by the Tribal Council or Governor.

(e) Officers. The Board shall select, by majority vote, from among its members, a Chair, a Vice Chair, a Secretary, and a Treasurer. A member of the Board may only hold one position. The Board shall prescribe the duties of the officers in the bylaws established by the Board.

(f) Removal of members. The Governor may at any time remove any member of the Board with or without cause.

(g) Compensation. The members of the Board may each receive from the Authority a stipend for their services except that the amount of the stipend may not to exceed $100.00 per meeting per month.

(h) Quorum. Three (3) members of the Board, at least one (1) of which must be either the Chair or the Vice Chair, shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.

(i) Meetings. The Board shall meet at regular intervals and other times as provided in the by- laws established by the Board.